Events and Activities

Our programme of local history talks runs from September to May each year, at St Luke’s Hall. Where possible we make recordings of the meetings available to members on Youtube for a limited period.

Our Local History Afternoon is held in alternate years, and in the Summer months we arrange visits to places of interest in Gloucestershire and further afield, and local history walks led by knowledgeable guides.

Date/Time Event Location
Wednesday, 18 September 2024, 7:30 PM The Cheltenham Female Orphan Asylum St Luke’s Hall
Wednesday, 16 October 2024, 7:30 PM The Many Builds of Cheltenham Minster St Luke’s Hall
Wednesday, 20 November 2024, 7:30 PM Views of Cheltenham 1786-1850 St Luke’s Hall
Wednesday, 15 January 2025, 7:30 PM History of Mummers Plays in Gloucestershire St Luke’s Hall
Wednesday, 19 February 2025, 7:30 PM Sapperton, a quiet corner of Gloucestershire St Luke’s Hall
Wednesday, 26 March 2025, 7:30 PM Families, fortunes & Philanthropists: the Memorials of St Philip & St James St Luke’s Hall
Wednesday, 16 April 2025, 7:30 PM 400 Years of Stroudwater Textiles St Luke’s Hall
Wednesday, 21 May 2025, 7:00 PM AGM followed by Cheltenham’s Iconic Buildings St Luke’s Hall

Evening meetings are held at St Luke’s Hall, St Luke’s Place, Cheltenham GL53 7HP. Directions to the Hall can be found here.

There are 20-25 parking spaces available on a first come first served basis, but if you have health or mobility problems then you are very welcome to a reserved place. Please email or phone Alison on 01242 519413 to reserve a place.

Doors open at 7pm for browsing our donated books shop and library and for socialising.

Talks start at 7:30pm and last for about 1 hour followed by Q&A.
Non-members are welcome, and we charge £2 for both members and non-members.

Date/Time Event Location
Tuesday, 1 October 2024, 10:30 AM Tewkesbury Abbey – History and Development St Luke’s Hall
Tuesday, 3 December 2024, 10:30 AM Cheltenham Women St Luke’s Hall
Tuesday, 4 February 2025, 10:30 AM Jane Austen’s Wills & Legal Puzzles St Luke’s Hall
Tuesday, 1 April 2025, 10:30 AM Walking Gloucestershire with Ivor Gurney St Luke’s Hall

Morning meetings are held at St Luke’s Hall, St Luke’s Place, Cheltenham GL53 7HP. Directions to the Hall can be found here.

There are few parking spaces available for our morning meetings, but those with health or mobility problems are very welcome to a space. Please email or phone Alison on 01242 519413 to reserve a place.

Doors open at 10am for refreshments, and for browsing our donated books shop and library and for socialising.

Talks start at 10:30am and last for about 1 hour followed by Q&A.

Non-members are welcome, and we charge £3 for both members and non-members.

Date/Time Event Location
Wednesday, 22 May 2024, 6:30 PM Walk: Exploring the Suffolks
Wednesday, 29 May 2024, 6:30 PM Walk: Cheltenham’s Literary Connections
Tuesday, 11 June 2024, 8:00 AM Visit to Salisbury Salisbury
Tuesday, 18 June 2024, 6:30 PM Walk: Exploring the Suffolks
Tuesday, 25 June 2024, 6:30 PM Walk: Cheltenham’s Literary Connections